Finding motivation

29 Jul

The past five weeks since my husband left have not been the health and fitness success I had hoped they would be.  Granted, I’m eating less meat and smaller portions but the junk is still there!! Not to mention the lack of exercise as well :-X  This is pretty bad considering that 1) I work in the health and wellness industry and 2) For several years I managed to maintain a really good lifestyle that just seemed to stop when I had my daughter.

I need to get it together mentally, if not for myself than for my daughter.  I have pretty good control over what she eats now and her play time, but what happens when she’s older and I don’t?  I don’t want her thinking that sitting around eating junk and barely exercising is ok because mommy does it.  I need to be the better example.  I need to do what I did before and have pre-ready healthy snacks and other things available instead of reaching for a cookie because it’s convenient.  I can get just as much sweetness from a melon as I can a cookie, and I can get fiber with the melon too.

As for the exercise… I like to exercise.  I love how I feel during and after a good session.  It’s just making sure I make time for myself to go.  Reminding myself that it’s not a waste of gas to get there if it’s beneficial to my health.

Leave a Reply

